Skip to content

Car Bomb in Birmingham (yes, Ala. – not UK)

30 July 2009

This just in, as reported by FOX6:

BIRMINGHAM, AL (WBRC) – A Walker County man was sitting in his vehicle on Wednesday, when a bomb exploded. The victim is now in serious condition at UAB Hospital.

Agents with the ATF and FBI have been called in to assist police to find out who planted the explosive device.

This all happened around 6:00 pm at a home on Crest Avenue in the Walker County community of Parrish.

Walker County’s Sheriff says it is unknown what type of explosive device it was or how it was detonated. He did say the explosion was confined to the inside of the truck.

Sheriff John Mark Tirey says this incident is shocking.

Yes, indeed!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Robert L. Conner permalink
    21 November 2009 4:10 pm

    My name is Robert Lee Conner. My mother, Paula Faye Conner, was killed in a similar bombing outside People’s Hospital where she worked as a nurse. She came out of the hospital, got into my grandfather’s truck (her car no longer worked because my father, Don Conner, had placed sugar in her gas tank just prior to kidnapping my brother and I just after the divorce), turned the key and was killed in the explosion. I was 8.

    When I asked my father on my 18th birthday what had happened and if he was involved, he replied only, “If you look for bad things, you’re going to find them.” He had an iron clad alibi and 2 attorneys waiting when they came to question him. He was never held accountable in her death. His mother, Millie Conner who lives in Cordova knows what happened, but she won’t tell me. My father pays her bills and she keeps her silence.

    These contract killings have been going on in the Walker County area for decades. Take my word for it. I grew up without any parents and was raised by my mother’s parents, the child of their daughter and the man who paid to have their daughter murdered. I took all the rage they could never give to him. I still have the scar from where he hit me in the back of the head with a claw hammer. But for all the damage I suffered at their hands, at least I could understand them. I could forgive them. After all, I look a lot like my Dad and they were mad with rage and grief. But for all my life, I have struggled and failed to understand why these men were paid to kill my mother. How they could kill a complete stranger for money can have no reason. It is simply evil. I take some small comfort in the fact that, after 30 years, I know the names of the men who killed her. I congratulate the law enforcement professional who caught these men. Perhaps, at long last, there will be some fragment of justice in all of this. I eagerly await the results of this investigation and pray that EVERYONE involved is brought the attention of the law.

    • sherri permalink
      15 December 2009 7:48 am

      I am so sorry that happened to you and your family. I understand your grandparents were devestated by the loss of your mom but that does not make their abuse of you, an innocent child, ok.
      I am happy to read that there have finally been some arrests in this case and I pray that those responsible for the death of your mom and the destruction of your childhood will be brought to justice.
      God Bless.
      Sherri

    • Betty permalink
      10 September 2012 11:36 pm

      Bobby,
      I was a friend of your mother. I remember all too well of what happened. I knew you and your brother I believe his name was Brian and you are the oldest. I went to Parrish with your mom and also nursing school but I didn’t finish and instead became a Police Officer. That is what I was doing on Jan. 18, 1980 when we all lost your mom. I would really like to know how you both are doing. I still am at the Jasper Police Dept. Betty

      • Robert L Conner permalink
        9 June 2013 8:28 pm

        Dear Betty,

        Thank you so much for writing me. I would love a chance to get to talk with you sometime. What are your Fridays like? I’d love to take you to lunch.

        Talk to you soon, I hope. Call any time.

        Robert L Conner
        (205)335-7361

      • Betty Smith permalink
        11 June 2013 7:03 am

        I am so glad to hear from you. I am going to give you a call. Betty Smith

      • Chris permalink
        23 March 2016 6:54 am

        Mrs. Smith,

        I just saw your comment and I apologize for not reaching out earlier.

        I am glad to see people still remember my mother and what happened that day. I, like my brother, long for answers and some form of closure.

        Feel free to contact me anytime, as I would love speak with you. I do not wish to put my contact info out on here, but you can contact Robert and he can give you that information.

        Thank you again.

  2. 25 January 2014 6:26 pm

    Bobby, Glad you are coping. You were a good child. Keep being good, in spite of your circumstances. God is helping you if you are asking Him to….you can’t help what your father may have done.

  3. Sandy permalink
    2 February 2014 9:06 am

    I was so glad to see your post. I have often wondered over the years what happened and why, how her kids were. Things were said and much was false. People talk, facts are changed. To lose your mom is bad,but to lose her in such a violet, sudden and public way is horrendous. Over the years I don’t think all those involved was ever brought to justice. Many have always believed her husband had it done. Although he was never charged, justice is accomplished in many ways. Life can be tortuous, sad and difficult to live. Friends, family and strangers can make it difficult to show ones face in public and in private. A very slow and painful end to ones life is also a form of justice. In the end,I believe no matter what you get away with on this earth you will not escape gods judgement and punishment. I’m very sorry for the way your grandparents treated you . Although I do understand their anger, grief and loss. How they treated you was not right. I don’t know if they are still living , but if do they should be held accountable for what they have done to you no matter their age. I hope and pray you and your brother find the answers you so desperately need and want to know. You both have a right to the facts and truth no matter how awful that maybe. You mother, being a nurse, lived a life in service to others. For someone that loving and caring to have to deal with so much fear, for her own safety but I would imagine for her children as well, was not deserved. I pray for a peaceful and blessed life for both you and your brother.

    • Robert Lee Conner permalink
      2 February 2014 10:46 am

      Sandy, you’re very kind. My grandparents passed many years ago, but I had the chance to make my peace with them. For all the things that were bad about that situation, they did an enormous amount right. They raised me and cared for me when I had lost both my parents and it will always love them and be grateful for that. They had just lost their child to a murderer and had the room in their hearts to raise that killer’s son under their roof. And I look a lot like my dad. Not exactly the easiest thing in the world to do. All things considered, I think they did their best with a really bad situation and you can’t expect more than that from anyone. The McLemores were good people. I moved back here in 2011 and I’ve had a chance to reconnect with my Mother’s side of the family. That’s been really good for me. After all is said and done, to have a place at the table there is an enormous grace.

      My father’s mother passed away this week and that’s been really strange for me. I’ve spent years being angry at her. She lived in Cordova. I looked her up in 2007 when I was back here on a trip and asked her what happened to my dad. Probably the single hardest thing about trying to forgive my dad is I have no idea what happened to make him turn out the way he did. I asked her and she ignored me: sat across her kitchen table from me and talked about the weather. After hating her for that for so long, it’s weird that she’s isn’t around anymore, but I’m also kind of relieved. Whatever happened to produce my father, I can only guess it was awful. The truth be told, I don’t think she had any real answers to give me. I’m no great bastion of faith, but I’m glad that particular can of worms is in God’s hands now and not in mine.

      • june permalink
        14 March 2014 11:22 pm

        Robert, When I was in high school I worked some at Peoples Hospital as a nurse aide. I remember your mother well, she was a beautiful lady, I remember that one eye was blue & the other green. She seemed to be a great nurse & kind to her patients. I have never forgotten her & I hope you get some comfort in that.

  4. Chris permalink
    27 October 2014 10:49 am

    My name is Christopher Brian Conner. I am Paula’s other son.

    Today is our mother’s birthday. Like every year, I search her name, just to remember her and maybe somewhere in the back of my mind, I hope to discover something new that makes this all make more sense.

    I’ve seen this thread in the past and followed as a silent observer, but this year I found something different. While I did not find the answers I so desperately seek, I found and outpouring of caring and remembrance for our mother.

    Thank you all for your shared memories and your kind words. They have made this otherwise rough day a little easier to bare. Thank you for the kind words shared with my brother. We are separated by many miles and I can’t always be there, but it’s good to know that there are kind words and glad memories to be found.

  5. danny permalink
    15 March 2015 4:10 pm

    mr conner , i came by this page and read your letter. i am from walker co. and know of alot that happened here. as you know you never get news here with the local paper being owned. so it was news to me that the people involved were caught,never have heard a word about this. can you tell who they were and what happened to them (if anything)
    too many secrets for too long in this county.

  6. Erica Russell permalink
    21 March 2016 6:20 pm

    Chris and Robert, my mom and I are sitting here talking about different things that happened long ago in Walker county, where we are from originally. My mom was telling me about a cute little dark headed nurse that she worked with that was killed in a bombing. We started looking and found this page. My mom is Rhonda Earnest Miller(at the time) and worked with your sweet mom. She said how sweet she always was and so pretty. My mom was parked next to your mom and couldn’t get her car for days. She told me that she had 2 little boys and here you two are. We just want you to know that people remember your mom with fond memories and now I feel like I know her. We pray for peace and comfort for you and your families. Blessings.

  7. Chris permalink
    23 March 2016 6:43 am

    Erica,

    Thank you for the kind words. As time rolls along, fewer and fewer people remember what happened that day, so it is good to see and hear from those who remember.

    I pray that someone comes forward so that justice can be served before time washes away the last traces of what happened.

    Chris

    • Helen permalink
      12 June 2016 2:06 am

      Conner Boys, It warms my heart to have found this thread!! I knew your Mom and proud to say my sister Doris Hubbard Brannon Bates was her BFF for a very long time. We’re you too young too remember her? Unfortunately she passed November 23, 2013. She would be grieved to hear of the “treatment” from Paula’s parents! Know this, She loved You Boys so..Be the Men she would have wanted and that will be ur gift 2 her. God Bless. Helen Hubbard Johnson RN

Leave a Reply

