Skip to content

Seeing and being seen @ Rickwood Classic

30 May 2007

Today is my 5th Rickwood Classic in Birmingham. My lovely wife wonders if this is really a business ‘meeting’ each time I attend. Based on the number of handshakes I’d argue it’s the most business oriented 2 hours of my summer. I have seen Mayor Kincaid, (mayoral candidate) Councillor Abbott, Don Lupo, and Jim Fennstermaker.  Even mayoral candidate Patrick Cooper had canvassers in the crowd. I had a nice long conversation with Ted vonCannon about TechBirmingham’s upcoming India trip. I had a valuable conversation with Carol Clarke about our funding in the City budget <smile>. AND, I spent most of the game sitting and talking with Andre Natta, manging editor of The Terminal, about his plans for growing the site.

Rickwood Classic @ lunchtimeAll the while, a nice little ball game has been going on at Rickwood Field, “America’s oldest ballpark.” Right now, I am blogging using my MotoQ while the Birmingham Barons and the Jacksonville Suns play in their retro ’64/’65 uniforms… tied at 2-2 in the bottom of the 5th inning.

I wouldn’t miss this event! Join me next year.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

